Followers

Follow by Email

Be a Social Blogger

Friday, October 31, 2014

Feature & Follow #23

Increase Blog Followers
 
Gain new followers and make new friends with the Book Blogger Feature & Follow! If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers -- but you have to know -- the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me.

The Feature & Follow is hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee of Parajunkee's View and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, (using the linky tools -- keep scrolling!) then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!
 
 
What books would you give to newbies in your favorite genre?
 
I don't have one favourite genre so here are some recs from my 2 favourites:
 
Urban Fantasy:
 
Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter, #1)Bitten (Women of the Otherworld #1)Moon Called (Mercy Thompson, #1)Hounded (The Iron Druid Chronicles, #1)
 
Historical Fiction:
 
The Secret History: A Novel of Empress TheodoraDaughter of the Gods: A Novel of Ancient Egypt 
and though it has elements of time travel mixed in with historical fiction, it is mostly set in the 1700s so I have to recommend
Outlander (Outlander, #1)
 
Follow on Bloglovin
 
http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/3809429
 
 
if-youre-here-blinkie
 
 

Friday 56 #35


This is a fun meme to do hosted by Freda's Voice If you'd like to join on the fun go to The Friday 56 

 Rules:
 
 *Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Link it

In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, #1)
 
Summary:
 
As dusk approaches a small Dublin suburb in the summer of 1984, mothers begin to call their children home. But on this warm evening, three children do not return from the dark and silent woods. When the police arrive, they find only one of the children gripping a tree trunk in terror, wearing blood-filled sneakers, and unable to recall a single detail of the previous hours.

Twenty years later, the found boy, Rob Ryan, is a detective on the Dublin Murder Squad and keeps his past a secret. But when a twelve-year-old girl is found murdered in the same woods, he and Detective Cassie Maddox—his partner and closest friend—find themselves investigating a case chillingly similar to the previous unsolved mystery. Now, with only snippets of long-buried memories to guide him, Ryan has the chance to uncover both the mystery of the case before him and that of his own shadowy past.

Richly atmospheric, stunning in its complexity, and utterly convincing and surprising to the end, In the Woods is sure to enthrall fans of Mystic River and The Lovely Bones. And look for French's new mystery, Broken Harbor, for more of the Dublin Murder Squad.
  
Summary & Cover taken from Goodreads.com
Length: 448 pages (Hardcover)
Publication Date: Published May 17th 2007 by Viking Adult (first published January 1st 2007)                   
 
Pg. 256
 
"All these people deserve to know what happened, Mr. Devlin." I said quietly. "And it's not just for their sakes, either. We've been working on the assumption that the two cases are connected. If we're wrong, then we need to know that, or Katy's killer could slip straight through our fingers."
 
if-youre-here-blinkie
 

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday #134

 
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine and is where we can talk about books we are looking forward to being released.
 
 
Court of Fives
 
Summary:
 
A teenage girl secretly competes in her city's prestigious athletic competitions in this high-fantasy adventure that can be pitched as Game of Thrones meets The Hunger Games meets Little Women.

In this imaginative escape into an enthralling new world, World Fantasy Award finalist Kate Elliott's first young adult novel weaves an epic story of a girl struggling to do what she loves in a society suffocated by rules of class and privilege.

Jessamy's life is a balance between acting like an upper class Patron and dreaming of the freedom of the Commoners. But at night she can be whoever she wants when she sneaks out to train for The Fives, an intricate, multi-level athletic competition that offers a chance for glory to the kingdom's best competitors. Then Jes meets Kalliarkos, and an unlikely friendship between a girl of mixed race and a Patron boy causes heads to turn. When a scheming lord tears Jes's family apart, she'll have to test Kal's loyalty and risk the vengeance of a powerful clan to save her mother and sisters from certain death.
Summary & Cover taken from Goodreads.com
Length: 448 pages (Hardcover)
Expected Publication Date: August 18th 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
 
Why I'm Waiting:
 
I've been wanting to read a book by Kate Elliot for a few years now, but I've been hesitant to try her adult fantasy stuff so I'm really excited about how this YA debut sounds.
 
Seeker (Seeker, #1)
 
Summary:
 
For readers of A Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games comes an epic new series.

The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor. As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world. And she'll be with the boy she loves--who's also her best friend.

But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes. Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought.

And now it's too late to walk away.
Summary & Cover taken from Goodreads.com
Length: 448 pages (Hardcover)
Expected Publication Date: February 10th 2015 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
 
Why I'm Waiting:
 
The cover is what caught my eye at first and then I read the summary which is a little vague but I like how it leaves the story a mystery. This is one I'm definitely looking forward to getting my hands on in the new year.
 
if-youre-here-blinkie 
 
 
 

Library Loot #40

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.
 
The Haul:
 
My Theodosia: A NovelThe DeltaBitterblue (Graceling Realm, #3)Where She Went (If I Stay, #2)Shade & Sorceress (The Last Days of Tian Di, #1)African Queen: The Real Life of the Hottentot Venus
Soulless (Parasol Protectorate, #1)Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 2Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 3
 
if-youre-here-blinkie